Vanek Speaks on the Playoffs, Injury

Fans aren’t the only ones down in the dumps right now.

“Just a few words about the playoffs. It’s really frustrating. We missed a great chance in game 6 at home. Just a few minutes and we would be preparing for Washington now. But I really don’t want to talk too much about it, it’s just hurting too much. Let’s talk about that in a week or two.”

Who's angry about Game Six? This guy.

That’s a quote from Thomas Vanek’s blog, and it’s apparent that Game Six is going to haunt Buffalo for a while.

Vanek was still hoping to continue playing hockey – namely at the World Championships in Slovakia, but an injury he had been nursing throughout the year will prevent that from happening.

“I’ve been nursing a finger injury now for months and the doctors in Buffalo think it’s better to let it rest and completely heal now instead of risking to re-injure the finger again. The injury was never so bad that I couldn’t play through it, but it was a bit distressing, especially in the beginning. When I injured the finger I had to learn a new grip on the stick otherwise the pain when I shot the puck was just too great. That was also the reason why I had to decline the invitation to take part in the All-Star game back in January.

When I told everybody that I would help the national team I really didn’t think that the finger would be any reason not to go, because I have really gotten used to it and really didn’t think too much about it. Now there’s nothing left for me but to wish Thommy Koch, Oliver Setzinger and the rest of the team all the best. I know you can do it without me!”

It’s going to be a long offseason, indeed.

Go Sabres.

About scottymcss

Homeschooler. Freelancer.
This entry was posted in Sabres and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

