The Quotable Harry Neale

Time for some offseason fun.

One of Sabres TV Commentator Harry Neale’s most famous quotes from his coaching career came after coaching the Canucks to a loss during the 1981–82 season:

“Last season we couldn’t win at home. This season we can’t win on the road. My failure as a coach is I can’t think of any place else to play.”

Also:

“Our system of fore checking is to shoot the puck and leave it there.”

“I know my players don’t like my practices, but that’s okay because I don’t like their games.”

Once, he put a 24-pack of beer at center ice at the end of a practice.

“I told ‘em, ‘The winning team gets the beer.’ Honest to God, I was sorry I did it. I thought those guys were going to kill each other in that scrimmage.”

Ah, old time hockey.  You just can’t get away with that kind of stuff anymore.  Still, it hasn’t stopped Neale from trying:

Go Sabres.

About scottymcss

Homeschooler. Freelancer. Ghostwriter. Contributor for Trending Buffalo. Writer for Buffalo Sabres Nation, Buffalo Wins, and other Buffalo sports sites. Have a Buffalo #SmartThing? Lemme' know...
This entry was posted in Sabres. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

